@big10p: It's a security setting in the webserver software -- there's a flag to explicitely allow or deny directory views.
Some webserver programs default to allowing this, other deny... And many get changed for admin preference. There's a convenience by listing the files, but it can also be a potential security hazard, since you expose more information about your server than you may feel comfortable with.
Some webserver programs default to allowing this, other deny... And many get changed for admin preference. There's a convenience by listing the files, but it can also be a potential security hazard, since you expose more information about your server than you may feel comfortable with.